i.O. Underground has released their sophomore EP The Underside

July 22, 2022 – Today, emerging Colorado-based independent rock trio i.O. Underground has released their sophomore EP, The Underside. PRESS HERE to listen. The 6-song collection features the previously released singles “Wall,” “What U Do,” and “Once In A Lifetime” along with new single “A Million Miles,” which the band has now released an official music video for – PRESS HERE to watch. i.O. Underground will be celebrating the EP’s release with a special show tonight (Friday, July 22) at Roots Music Project in Boulder, CO – PRESS HERE for tickets and more info.

“We are beyond excited to bring new music into the world, and cannot wait to hear what our family, fans, and friends think of The Underside. Run it through your ears and tell us how we did!,” shares i.O. Underground. “We’re excited to perform these new songs at our EP release show tonight and upcoming shows. A heartfelt Thank You to everyone who has supported our process and music. We are truly grateful to everyone who has been involved in the release of this EP.”

i.O. Underground first introduced this new chapter in their discography with “Wall,” where shimmering keys and ebullient guitars ignite the song’s momentum, culminating in a chantable chorus punctuated by lead vocalist Grayson’s dynamic vocal delivery of “Got my back against the wall. Pushing hard, but I’m not falling down.” PRESS HERE to watch the official music video for “Wall.” On “What U Do,” siren squeals beam out like an extraterrestrial buzz over a skittering beat as bass-y synths warble before climaxing on a guitar-charged refrain. Elsewhere on The Underside EP is the uplifting anthem “Once In A Lifetime,” where a carpe diem chorus takes flight as a piano-laden bridge entrances, and “A Million Miles,” which illuminates the idiosyncrasies of the group’s musical alchemy. Gentle guitar harmonics glisten between the glitchy production as the vocals expand from intimate verses into an infectious refrain, striking a perfect balance. See below for the EP’s full track listing.

Ahead of tonight’s release show, i.O. Underground spoke with Denver’s Westword about the band’s eclectic sound – PRESS HERE to read. The trio has also recently received support from 303 Magazine, The Indy Review, LATF USA, Vents Magazine, Tinnitist and more.

i.O. Underground erase restrictions and embrace creative freedom in its purest form. The three-piece – Grayson (lead vocals, guitar, bass), Casey Kannenberg (guitar, keys, bass, vocals) and Beau Harding (drums, vocals) – present a multi-dimensional signature style layered with future-facing alternative experimentation, singer-songwriter eloquence, and nineties-style rock energy with influences as diverse as Coldplay, Muse, and The Beatles. Their 2020 debut collection, The Wonderside EP, highlighted by the songs “Save Me,” “Coming Apart” and “Powers” combined with live shows throughout the Denver/Boulder area has built i.O. Underground a quiet buzz and growing fan base. With The Underside EP, the band hopes to make a personal connection through a universally intriguing sound, as they continue to push sonic boundaries.

The Underside EP Track Listing
1.      A Million Miles
2.      What U Do
3.      Once In A Lifetime
4.      Wall
5.      Not Too Late
6.      Go To Sleep
i.O. Underground
Photo credit: Staci Zohlen
Follow i.O. Underground:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.