Night Demon launches cover version of Thin Lizzy’s “The Sun Goes Down”

Photo Credit: Peter Beste

Night Demon launches cover version of Thin Lizzy’s “The Sun Goes Down”; new compilation, ‘Year of the Demon’, now available for pre-order

On March 25th, Southern California metal masters Night Demon will release a special compilation album – titled Year of the Demon – via Century Media Records. Comprised of the band’s five standalone 7″ singles from 2020, this 10-track collection features original songs, cover tunes, and previously unheard live recordings. Pre-order your copy of Year of the Demon (in the available formats listed below) at: For a preview of the record, Night Demon has launched a new single – a cover version of Thin Lizzy’s classic “The Sun Goes Down”.


Jarvis Leatherby (Vocals / Bass) comments:

“2020 was certainly the ‘Year of the Demon’ in so many ways! Never in our wildest imagination would we be releasing (5) 7″ singles in a calendar year, and nowhere in our fans’ imagination would one of the hardest touring bands of the last decade be sidelined (along with the rest of the world) by this virus that demonized our lives. We are proud to finally release these songs as a complete collection and include the rare B-sides that only saw the light of day on the collector’s record player. Here’s to 2022 and the future bringing us all something more to hope for. We have a lot more to come this year!”


When the world came to a gut-wrenching halt in March 2020, Night Demon’s extensive touring plans were derailed; however, their creative flame burned brighter than ever. In the spring and summer of 2020, the band unleashed a series of five standalone, limited 7″ singles, which their loyal legions voraciously devoured; all physical product sold out instantly. Aside from the original songs (which were also released on digital/streaming platforms), the single recordings were exclusive to the 7″ vinyl pressings; they have never been made available to the public for purchase in any other format – until now, with Year of the Demon.

Year of the Demon track-listing

  1. Empires Fall
  2. Kill The Pain
  3. Are You Out There
  4. Vysteria
  5. In Trance (Scorpions cover, live feat. Uli Jon Roth)
  6. Fast Bikes (LeGriffe cover)
  7. 100 MPH [Cirith Ungol cover, feat. Tim Baker (Cirith Ungol)]
  8. The Sun Goes Down (Thin Lizzy cover)
  9. Wasted Years (Iron Maiden cover, live)
  10. Top Of The Bill (Scorpions cover, live feat. Uli Jon Roth)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.